Skip to main content

A bit of History – 2022

Published on
22 October 2023

It has been 12 years since the first edition of the X-Pyr in 2012.

This will be the sixth edition of the race, (in 2020, the suppossed 5th edition wasn’t possible, due to COVID).

Starting in 2012, then, as always thereafter, the race left Hondarribia for the first time.
Fourteen teams dared to start the race into the madness of crossing the Pyrenees from coast to coast. Until finishing in El Port de la Selva, a week later, it was a real sprint between the first two, Iván Colás and Iñigo Gabiria. The final winner was Iñigo, with an incredible difference of less than 30 seconds.

The last edition was in 2022, with an incredible route: longer, more complicated… wonderful participants, and a challenge that is growing edition after edition. And, of course, the dominance of Chrigel Maurer since his first win in 2014.

From then until now, things have changed. The organisation, the participants, the race itself.

But we still keep the original essence: we are a group of hike & fly enthusiasts who want others to be passionate about what we love the most.

If we have aroused your curiosity about the previous editions, take a look at the summary we have prepared.

Without them, the X-Pyr wouldn't exist.

Our thanks to:

Main Partners




Are you interested in sponsoring us?

Subscribe and get race info
Contact us
X-Pyr | The pyreneean challenge
© X-Pyr | The pyreneean challenge. All rights reserved.